The purpose of the Northern Lehigh Multi-Municipal Comprehensive Plan is to enable the Borough of Slatington and the Townships of Heidelberg, Lynn, Lowhill, Washington and Weisenberg to shape their collective vision for the future.

Each municipality has prepared its own comprehensive plan in the past and will keep their autonomy and control, but planning as a region will enable them to take advantage of geographic similarities and address their common priorities, while better managing an evolving development landscape.

The Multi-Municipal Plan will allow them to determine common goals and objectives for areas of land use, transportation, providing recreational facilities, the conservation of natural and scenic resources, the preservation of farmland and fostering economic development, in addition to identifying ways to share resources.

The plan will be used as a road map for the future, but it is also a living document that can be changed and updated as trends and conditions evolve. The first Comprehensive plan for the “Northern Region of Lehigh County” was passed in 2004. This will be the first update.

Crafting a new plan will involve monthly Steering Committee meetings, a detailed housing, economic, demographics and land use analysis, and a community survey.